U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-16-2012, 08:21 PM

4 posts, read 15,066 times

Advertisements

My husband and I can not decide if it would be a great idea to move from Northern VA to just north of Tampa-maybe Land O Lakes area of Florida.

A little history of us: I am 28 and I am an ophthalmic technician (work with ophthalmologists/retina/corneal/lasik doctors) and my husband is 31 and a fire fighter/ medic. We are aware of getting all of his certifications turned over to Florida-what we can't come to a conclusion on is how often are fire fighter/ EMT jobs opening up down there and if they pay as well as Northern VA (he makes high 60,000 right now).

We have 3 kids and we are big on living in an area that has good schools, low crime, close to beaches, affordable homes but not overly expensive real estate taxes/homeowners insurance and a nice area to raise our family. We are major Disney lovers and its getting harder and harder to leave FL everytime we come down (we are up to 3 visits plus each year now). Love the beach and warm weather! Hot does not bother us!

We hate the cold winters, expensive (extremely expensive) cost of living, and nasty people in Northern VA. The only thing keeping us here is seriously our jobs. My parents are even moving to Alabama in the next year.