U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-12-2008, 04:15 PM

13 posts, read 34,603 times

Advertisements

Hi all. I am from Michigan, and the job market here is DEAD. I graduated last summer from Wayne State (the university here in Detroit) with a Bachelors of Science in Information Systems. I worked contract at Ford for 5 years as a CAD Designer. I got laid off from there a few years ago. That led me to get my Bachelors Degree. The automotive industry is dead; I don’t want any part of it anymore.

I’m thinking of moving to the Tampa area. I have family and friends there. What is the job market like there? I’m looking to get into something in the IT field or Logistics, because I did work at UPS before I was at Ford. I don’t have any real IT experience except for classroom experience. What are the chances for a person with my degree to find something there? I would appreciate your input. Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-12-2008, 04:36 PM

409 posts, read 1,401,016 times
People here love to complain about how this area is really bad in terms of jobs. I disagree. I constantly see reports about how jobs are growing here and I had no issues when I moved here. Maybe other people have. Tampa was recently ranked 7th hottest job market in the US by CNN Money.

7. TAMPA, FL

2-year job-growth forecast: 5.3%

Metropolitan-area population: 2.7 million