Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-31-2010, 09:07 AM

11 posts, read 19,673 times

Advertisements

Newbie here and would like to get your thoughts. I'm transferring to MacDill and looking to live close to the base. I looked at THE LANDINGS by Ashton Woods this past weekend. Very nice houses, but require flood insurance. I'm not worried about schools as my kids will stay here in Ft Walton Beach and I will commute a couple times a month on the weekends to see them. I believe I will only be here for 2-3 years. I'm trying to decide to either rent or buy down there. I plan to have my golden retriever with me, so a yard would be nice, but not a must.

I'm scared about the housing market still going down and then having to sell my house in 2-3 years. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-31-2010, 10:26 AM

1,500 posts, read 3,331,611 times
Though there are some who speculate that the market could come back within two or three years (come back as in start acting normal, not as in back to bubble prices or appreciation rates), and I hope it does but am not counting on it, I would not buy just to own for 2 or 3 years, considering things might not get back to normal, considering the hassle of buying and the cost of selling, etc.