U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-03-2013, 06:51 PM

1,233 posts, read 2,740,717 times

Advertisements

Evening, all. I have a little dilemma for which I could use a little advice. I am a technology teacher at my school. This year, teachers were required to maintain classroom webpages. Several teachers included images of popular cartoon characters on their sites. As the webmaster for my school's sites, I went through the sites and, after checking with my supervisor, replaced some pictures that I thought could get us in trouble.

Well, now some of my colleagues are annoyed with me. They're insisting that because the images are available on Google images, and because our website is non-commercial/educational in nature, the images can be used, either under fair use or public domain laws. I say that's not necessarily the case, and it's better to be safe than sorry. I'm not an attorney, but I'm fairly well-versed in law for a layman, and I know that some copyright holders have sent out cease and desist letters in cases similar to this.

What do you all think? Am I being too anal about this, or should I stand my ground? Thanks for any advice.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 06-03-2013, 06:53 PM

21,093 posts, read 25,611,687 times
You are the tech teacher. Of all people the school relies on you to know the law and keep them outta court.

Old 06-03-2013, 07:07 PM

19,104 posts, read 20,301,827 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zthatzmanz28 View Post