U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 08:41 PM

4 posts, read 18,585 times

Advertisements

I was offered a teaching position at a Florida charter school in the Orlando area. I was wondering what are the good vs. bad things about teaching at a Florida charter school vs. the Florida public school system?

This charter school has a high percentage of Hispanic students. Good vs. bad things about teaching Hispanic students in general. Not a lot of Hispanic students in my home state so I have little experience teaching this population.

On greatschools.com, the school is not ranked too low but it's not a 9 or 10 either.

I will be coming from out-of-state and do not want to walk into a school where the kids are uncontrollable, extremely disrespectful, etc.

Should I hold out for a public school job?

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2013, 09:46 PM

21,093 posts, read 24,601,173 times
I will pray for you. Do you have to take a position in Florida? If not, I would not.

Old 07-01-2013, 09:58 PM

18,847 posts, read 32,569,435 times
I would not take it, unless you are desperate. Most Hispanics in Florida are Cuban, or Puerto Rican, and they push their kids to excel.

Orlando is not so bad. You can find a decent place to live on a teacher salary. You need a car though, public transportation is horrendous.

Old 07-02-2013, 02:57 PM

3,283 posts, read 5,515,520 times
This wouldn't happen to be the rapper Pitbull's charter school, would it?