Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 02:05 PM

11 posts, read 35,773 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm currently studying speech pathology as an undergrad, but I think I may want to pursue teaching, or at least, try it out for a few years through a program such as Teach for America or TNTP City Fellows. I was wondering if anyone is familiar with the details of these initiatives. Specifically, I'd like to teach in Philadelphia, and was wondering how competitive TFA is in Philly. I know NYC, Boston, and Chicago are traditionally the cities with the lowest acceptance rate, but what are my prospects for Philly? Alternatively, I'd be willing to try Delaware or perhaps New Jersey. If the acceptance rate is ridiculously low, I may consider pursuing an M.Ed. or switching my major to education (a little late in the game as a college junior, I know). To provide some additional information, I'd be interested in applying for ESL, special education, or English.