Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-16-2008, 02:06 PM

550 posts, read 2,052,204 times

Advertisements

HI, I am a certified teacher with experience teaching fifth grade in maryland.
I moved up to philly (romantic reasons...hehe) last year and subbed for a year....well after struggling to pay the bills and having no insurance i decided it was time to plunge into the school district of philadelphia (not so good rep).
so trying to make a long story short-i am just starting on monday-the hiring process here is horribly outdated in inefficient! so all week i've been on the phone with my placement school trying to find out what grade i'd be teaching on monday-i find out today SEVENTH GRADE!!!! EEK!!!! I am certified k-6 but since it is a self-contained classroom in an El school they say i can teach it-i am soooooo internally freaking out! what should i expect-i don't even know what kind of classroom management works for older kids (5th grade is right on that cusp where sillier and younger management techniques work)

so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! i don't even know what i will be doing on monday! no idea where they are in the curriculum either i am visiting the school tomorrow to try to learn more!
Thank you all in advance if you have suggestions
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-17-2008, 09:17 AM

124 posts, read 479,155 times