U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 11:33 AM

5 posts, read 26,788 times

Advertisements

Greets all,
I'm 27, male, single and looking to move someplace where I can actually AFFORD a house on a teacher's salary. Where I am now, even a condo is running $225k, and I'm 2 hours from Miami up the coast. Long story short, I just can't afford to live here.
Anyway, I'm looking for a nice area where I can afford something on my own. As an elementary teacher, I can pretty much move wherever I need to. This is what I'd like (and feel free to ask for more info if it'll help)
1. SEASONS! Wet and Hot are NOT seasons! And I don't mind snow.
2. Nice area. I don't mind a city with bad areas, just as long as I'm not living in them.
3. I REALLY enjoy hiking/photography.
4. About an hour, max, from an airport. I like to travel...
5. Good schools. I'd like to raise a family where I move.

That's all I can think of right now. Thanks for any help!

Doug
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-11-2007, 03:11 PM

1,119 posts, read 3,991,491 times
Check out some information on Omaha, NE it is a very good city to live in

CSA population about 859,000
Omaha combined with nearby Lincoln CSA 1.2million

a.Omaha was ranked in the top 20 in 2003 for best jobs in the us according to:
b.top 20 here in the us for quality of life:
c.#5 according to msnbc.com for raising a baby
d.Study ranks the Omaha metro the #30 funnest metro in america
e.#41 for highest per capita income in the US