Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 12:07 PM

48 posts, read 196,102 times

Advertisements

DISCLAIMER: This is not a knock on teaching/teachers as I'm pursuing this career, too. I'm just curious as to why there are so many people going to school to be teachers and so many applications for a job most people seem to complain about. Perhaps it's my inner pyschologist but I'm c-u-r-i-o-u-s!

I'm not a certified teacher but I've been subbing for about two years (mostly long-term jobs) and I've noticed most teachers seem to hate their jobs and complain about their students.

After subbing, I don't blame them but I often wonder, why don't you switch careers? What keeps you teaching? Is it a love-hate relationship? Do some of the students you can help, override most of the students who, for a lack of better words, annoy you? Or, does it have to do w/ all of the vacation and summers off? Just curious...

Personally, I'm pursuing teaching b/c I like kids, math and teaching math. And, I'm not going to lie--The vaca/summers off is the biggest thing luring me in. I'm an aspiring Olympian so I need as much vaca as I can get...and I need to be available during the summer for travel and tournaments. The teaching salary really isn't an issue with me...

So, what keeps YOU teaching, despite the 'cons' that come along w/ this career?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-19-2010, 12:47 PM

174 posts, read 516,765 times
It's like living in a Sit-com. There's never a dull moment.