Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-03-2014, 11:25 PM

3 posts, read 2,880 times

Advertisements

I have been teaching for over 20 years in upstate NY, my baby just graduated from high school & we are thinking about relocating. My husband is a retired NY state trooper, so we are looking at states that don't tax his pension.

So any suggestions of where to go? I would still need to work full time, preferably teaching pre-k. We love theater & would like to be fairly close to that, where we could see the touring productions of shows, as well as other theater.

Thanks so much!
Tami
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2014, 10:40 PM

1,243 posts, read 1,147,058 times
Consider the Tri-Cities (Bristol, Kingsport, Johnson City). Mid-sized cities for the state. Good salaries for teachers (especially for the city school systems), low COL, and the Barter Theater is just up the road in Abingdon, VA - which is about a 10 minute drive from Bristol, and about a 30-40 minute drive from the other two. They have wonderful shows. Google it. I took my wife last year for her B-day to see Les Miserables and it was excellent. They just got through with a run of Man of La Mancha.

Old 07-07-2014, 02:40 PM

3,828 posts, read 8,472,204 times