U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-11-2006, 07:19 AM

36,309 posts, read 37,000,412 times

Advertisements

Now that I have your attention...

Apparently, there is too much school absenteeism in Anderson County's 3 school districts. For those with kids, I have no idea how you will take this story but as a person without kids, I know that vandalism and petty burglaries are more pronounced in places where too many kids are hanging out and the parents don't know it or don't care. As a future resident, I like this proposal because it puts the burden on the parents through penalties to supervise their kids. I never understood how giving kids who don't want to be in school, more time off from school (suspension or expulsion), would be an effective remedy to the kid or the community.

There are 3 school districts in Anderson County (Oak Ridge, Clinton and Anderson County) where too many student unexcused absences could put the parents in the pokey (that's jail for those that don't watch old Jimmy Cagney movies). The new policy has been approved by all 3 on first reading. If it's approved on second reading, the penalties will go into effect in January.

Each kid gets 5 unexcused absences but on the sixth, it's off to juvenile court with the District Attorney involved.