Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-15-2008, 09:23 PM

79 posts, read 314,284 times

Advertisements

Hi! My family is considering a move to TX and we're looking at the San Angelo area and would appreciate any info you are willing to provide.

Some of the questions we have are:

1) Availability of jobs - I'm an accountant and most recently an HR manager. My husband will be able to keep his job regardless of where we live.

2) Daycare / Preschool - we have a 3YO son who is currently in a Pre-K program here in VT. Are the programs good there and what is the cost of FT preschool/care?

3) Schools - we also have an 8 year old daughter. How are the school in the area?

4) Crime rate - Is there a lot of crime? Is the crime generally isolated to specific areas?

5) Any general info you can provide on San Angelo and surrounding areas is really appreciated.

Just a quick background on us - we are moderately conservative, practicing Catholics, hard-working and family-oriented and are looking for a place to raise our kids with low crime, good morals, and good friends.

Thanks in advance for all your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-16-2008, 10:12 AM

11,853 posts, read 26,854,435 times
I lived in San Angelo for 7 years back in the late 1990s (DH and I met at ASU and stayed there while he finished graduate school) so my info may be a bit dated.

The good things about San Angelo: