Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-25-2017, 10:15 PM

2 posts, read 2,809 times

Advertisements

Hello, one-and-all. I live in a rural section of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex. I am a certified teacher (grades EC-6 and ESL qualified) as well as having 18 years of experience in administrative/clerical/call center work and 14 years in security work--everything from door patrol to shipping assistance to defacto s ite supervision. Yet with all my expertise, I can secure neither a full time teaching position, nor a security position...heck, not even a call center job!!! You see, in the area of DFW where I live, minorities (especially STRAIGHT minority MEN, of which I am one) are NOT SUPPOSED to have my qualifications...and are certainly NOT SUPPOAED to want jobs in which they can use said skills--UNLESS they have lived in this area ALL THEIR LIVES or EMBRACE AN UN-GODLY LIFESTYLE (see above). Since neither of these stipulations have or will ever apply to lil' ol' me, I am now faced with the dilemma of relocating to somewhere OTHER than my current location; to that end, I have decided to try my hand in a new place--I am choosing between Waco, Temple or Killeen. The question is: WHICH ONE??? I am posting this statement in order to get any and all prayers/advice/tips on where to make this obviously-life-altering move. I welcome any tips, as well, on where to apply for work in my chosen fields (again, see above). Please HELP!!! Sign me:

Desperate in Dallas😢😢😞
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-26-2017, 10:01 AM