U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-25-2008, 01:06 PM

45 posts, read 139,244 times

Advertisements

My wife received a job offer that was too good to pass up in Victoria, TX. Of course, there is the issue of my employment. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology and have spent the majority of my career working with children (i.e. protective services and foster home agencies), with that in mind, does anyone have any insight on the job market in Victoria? I understand that I may have to find a "job" while I look for a career. Also, we are looking to rent a home since we have two big dogs and living in an apartment is out of the question. Will it be difficult to find a nice home to rent? We aren't opposed to living in a smaller town such as Port Lavaca or Cuero. It may be more difficult to find a home in a town with a smaller population, but we are really attracted to the small town atmosphere. Any tips would be appreciated.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-25-2008, 09:02 PM

3,494 posts, read 13,326,538 times
i dont know much about Victoria, but i believe that there is a designated children's hospital there. you may look into that..or at least one of the hospitals is more pediatric-oriented. have you surfed on the Texas Dept of Health and Human Services website for job openings in social work?

Old 03-26-2008, 07:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bellestaroftexas View Post