U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Toronto
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-09-2007, 01:55 AM

175 posts, read 1,565,039 times

Advertisements

I am considering moving to Toronto next summer. My only concern is whether I will be able to find a decent job there once I land. From what I know, it could be pretty tough because the Canadian employers don't recognize work experience elsewhere. I am Asian by the way, not an American, but I got my Master's degree in the US, and had successfully completed the CFA exams (if that matters). Of course English won't be a problem for me, as my previous and current bosses are all Americans, and my English should be considered fluent (not native level though).

I had the experience of working in L.A for 6 months however, without a permanent resident status, there were quite limited good opportunites for me. So, guys who had moved to Toronto from anothe country, how is the job market nowadays? I have heard quite different stories, like PhDs driving taxis etc.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-14-2007, 01:18 AM

9 posts, read 81,603 times
move to alberta....you have to be have to be dumb to not get a job market is only going up.

Old 10-14-2007, 08:45 PM

1,257 posts, read 3,418,683 times
Alberta defintely has the hottest job market right now ....as for immigrants with Phd's driving taxis ....that is when they have degrees from some countries that aren't recognized by Canada .....if you got your Masters degree from a US College then that will not be a problem ...