U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Toronto
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-15-2013, 01:34 PM

3 posts, read 5,259 times

Advertisements

I work as Senior Wealth Manager for an American bank based in Dubai. I have extensive work experience in wealth management/ private banking( 5 years in India and 6 years in Dubai dealing across multiple nationalities ). I am planning to move to Toronto along with my family(wife and kid) and am curious to know about the scope of banking jobs in Toronto. I plan to settle in Toronto for now but am flexible enough to change location (within Canada) for better prospects. I would appreciate if somebody can guide me on how to scout for suitable jobs in this segment and what to expect in terms of compensation/ profile as a beginner in Canada.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-15-2013, 01:42 PM

10,847 posts, read 13,486,893 times
First of all, when it comes to finance jobs, you choose Toronto and nothing else. There is no better prospects in other Canadian cities.

the big 5 banks pretty much dominate the banking/financial services sector, so it is not like you have a lot of options. And Canadian banks are notorious for requiring "Canadian experience" when hiring someone, and your previous experience let it be in Germany or Dubai will be discounted heavily for them. Also, they don't pay that well either.

maybe you can try those pension funds such as CPP or Teachers'. They are much better.

Old 08-15-2013, 03:32 PM

15,833 posts, read 11,744,955 times