U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Toronto
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-13-2007, 02:49 PM

2 posts, read 19,313 times

Advertisements

Hi folks,
I am an engineer living in Edmonton. I recently got a job in Mississuaga, Toronto for around 80k CAD.
I am wondering if that can accomodate me and my family (wife and one child). How much is the rent for a decent 2 bedroom?
I am renting an apartment now in Edmonton. How much do you think am I suppose to ask for relocation compensation (moving my home furniture, temporary accomodation in mississauga, etc...)
Thanks for your concern
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-14-2007, 07:45 PM

9,594 posts, read 25,193,551 times
No idea what rent for a home is like...

Rent for nice appartments starts around $1000/mth.

Where exactly will you be working?

We have many highways passing through here, and depending on where your work is might affect where you want to live...

Driving from where I live, which is in the west end, center (Erin Mills area) to Pearson Airport in Mississauga's extreme northeast can take 35-55 minutes in rush hour, while with no traffic it only takes 12 minutes, when you can drive a constant 110km/h on the 403/401.

$80,000... is that like $55,000 to $60,000 after tax?

It will probably be doable, could still be comfortable, but not extravagent...
(then again I have limited knowledge on cost breakdowns, and only general ideas on costs around here)

Old 12-31-2007, 10:43 AM

2 posts, read 19,313 times
Default Thx

Hello Cold Canadian,