U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-02-2011, 03:19 AM

4 posts, read 9,520 times

Advertisements

Hey there,

To make a long story short, My husband & I have moved to Baltimore, and due to factors beyond our control, in three weeks I will be driving our car and our 2 cats across the country. We've considered other options, but this seems to be our best bet.

I'll be driving solo in a car with GPS & snow tires. I have some experience driving in snow, but it's not my favourite thing to do. Can anyone give any advice on routes to take, strategies, or other tips? I'm considering taking the I-80 for part of the trip, as I've read it's one of the safer winter highways.

Also, any cold weather driving tips would be greatly appreciated, as where I come from it rarely gets any colder than -5C (23F). For example, someone told me I'd need to plug in my car at night? (huh?)

Thanks in advance, you've been awesome during our relocation!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2011, 07:30 PM

15,711 posts, read 50,505,292 times
I guess I-80 is as good a route as you are going to get, my only specific advice would be to stay put till the current storm ends. Not sure what is driving your 3-week from now timing besides convenience.

Consider selling the car, or consigning it to a car lot, since it's a Canadian spec car and you may have some hassles getting it registered in Maryland anyway.

The "plugging in" comment is for cars that have a "block" or coolant heater installed.