Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
2,500,000 members. Thank you!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-14-2007, 03:44 AM

39 posts, read 142,934 times

Advertisements

As a UK Resident, I have always been confused by Americans I have spoken to re their visits to the UK. Many seem to visit London, then travel directly to Scotland before flying back home.

I live in the Central UK, (East Midlands) where compared with London we see relatively few American tourist. Our area in common with many areas of the UK has as much history and character as London.

Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Norfolk, Devon, Cornwall, The peaks, The Lake District, all great places to visit.

I would be interested to know where you go when visiting the UK, and what you liked and disliked?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-14-2007, 05:11 AM

1,320 posts, read 3,680,903 times
I have only been to the UK once. I visited London. This is where I have family. I was only there a week. I would love to see other parts, including the Central region.

Old 09-14-2007, 05:34 AM

14,229 posts, read 29,851,842 times
The area you're talking about is my favorite. Especially the Lake District.

Most tourists do go to London. It's easy, the plane lands there. Just like most tourists from the UK end up on the east or west coasts of the US. Most never see anything in the middle.