U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Tucson
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-21-2009, 11:57 AM

1 posts, read 5,023 times

Advertisements

Oops... The title should say: "Marana, Oro Valley, Arizona City, Casa Grande ???"

I'm seeing houses at very low prices in these areas ($50K-$100K), so I'm considering buying a home to visit the next couple winters and see if I'd like to live near Tucson.

I'm an independent software developer and won't need to commute everyday.

I'd like to know if these areas are nice to live in? I like a quiet, laid back atmosphere. I don't need bars or other "action" places.

Also, anyone know of any reasons these homes may be priced so low? I understand the country is in a depression and won't exit until 2010, but these prices seem low even considering the bad economic conditions. Could it be water problems, crime, taxes?

Last edited by rich.testbcc; 05-21-2009 at 11:58 AM.. Reason: Miss-spelled a word.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2009, 12:42 AM

641 posts, read 2,225,961 times
I am in Arizona city. There a lot of foreclosures here. The reason some are around 30 and 40 k, those need work. I have seen some starters that are ok at 50 but have no fenced yard.

There really is nothing to do in Arizona City, but you are 8 miles from Casa Grande.

Over half of the apartment complexes here are foreclosed now. I think a lot of them were the same investors who dumped them. People that rented did not know until they had sherrifs at the door telling them to leave.

You can get some great deals on a home here though.