U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Tucson
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-02-2009, 04:19 PM

166 posts, read 326,321 times

Advertisements

I am posting this in the Tucson board because I worry that it will go un-noticed in the general Arizona board.

I am an English teacher, mainly high school but I can teach middle school, too. (I'm also qualified to teach history and social studies, but those are certifications I can obtain later.)

I was laid off from a corporate education position here in Wisconsin in January. I was always a little doubtful about the corporate world (although I'll admit it paid well) and decided to take this opportunity to go back to the classroom. My educational background is good -- a Bachelor of Arts in American Studies from Yale, a Master of Arts in Teaching from Boston University.

Public schools here in the upper Midwest are laying off rather than hiring; quite apart from the state of the economy, school-age populations simply aren't growing. So I decided to concentrate my search on the sun-belt. I obtained my secondary and middle school English certifications in the states of Florida, Texas, and North Carolina, and now should have easy reciprocity with any other state, including Arizona.

I am being considered for a middle school language arts position in Nogales; I haven't gotten the offer yet, but my references are being checked and I think they are getting close. So, having never been to Arizona (although I've lived and traveled extensively throughout the U.S.), I have some questions: