U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > U.S. Territories
 [Register]
U.S. Territories Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, etc.
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-23-2011, 09:56 AM

9 posts, read 22,743 times

Advertisements

I'm currently a student, and I don't really think college is for me. It's fun, but I have an itch to leave my corner of the world and take on a life of vagabondage for a few years, likely returning to college after.
I was thinking, as a way to kick it off, I'd go and spend an extended amount of time in our territorial islands of the pacific, probably about a year. Ideally, I'd bounce from island to island, opting to spend a few months at each. I currently do not have any money, but I have a ski instructing prospect that should land me a couple grand, plus the farm, so I'll probably work up about $5000. That will be chiefly for airfare/food/rent. After that, I'm going to have to find work in the islands.
What is the cost of living like? Rent? How much is a gallon of milk?
Is under-the-table work prominent? Where do I find that? (I'll take low-pay grunt work, I'm a farmer anyway)
What should I know?
I'm looking for the cheapest, closest to the "nitty-gritty" island life I can get, in Guam, American Samoa, Northern Marianas, even Micronesia (I think they are a commonwealth?).

Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2011, 10:24 AM

3,385 posts, read 3,842,299 times
Wherever you decide to go, do yourself a favor by staying away from a little island named Nuku Hiva. Here's why:

BBC News - French Polynesian mayor denies cannibalism claim