U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > U.S. Territories
 [Register]
U.S. Territories Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, etc.
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-07-2008, 04:19 PM

1 posts, read 3,123 times

Advertisements

Hey Guys,

I need some help. I am currently a college student at Clemson University in South Carolina. I am looking at doing an internship in the Virgin Islands for the summer with a construction company. My school requires us to do two summers of internship but they don’t help us out when trying to find a company. I am interested in interning in STT or STX, just because the population is a little higher making business a little bit better.

What I need help doing is finding a construction company (commercial or residential). I have searched on the web and am having trouble finding one. The only one I could find was Roy’s Construction, which seems pretty legit but they might not be hiring for an internship.

If we could get a list going of construction companies in the area, I would appreciate it greatly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-07-2008, 11:36 PM

345 posts, read 1,155,543 times
I have worked for a few VI constructions companies and with a few more. You will either blow youre brains out or become an alcoholic. I grew up in STT/STJ

good luck

construction in the islands is a mockery of anythign you have been taught or ever seen. There is no such thing as "skilled labor" and hardly any "skill" on a construction site down there. Every construction company i have been apart of has gone under. These were large companies mind you.