U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > U.S. Territories
 [Register]
U.S. Territories Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, etc.
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 10:34 AM

1 posts, read 3,615 times

Advertisements

I really want to move Puerto Rico, I have little or no spanish speaking skills, as of yet. I can order beer, that's about it. I work in the medical field as a Respiratory therapist and I have many specialities within that field, such as sleep studies and pulmonary diagnostic and pulmonary rehab training. What are my possibilities in getting a job in Puerto Rico?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-19-2008, 11:29 AM

1,772 posts, read 4,072,697 times
The short answer is with your background you'll be able to find a job, you just won't necessarily appreciate the paycut and lower QOL. Make no mistake about it, PR, particularly in the areas where you'd be able to find a job suitable to your education, has New England cost of living and pays Mississippi wages as a median. It makes financial sense only to the well-funded retiree and the indigent. It is what it is.