U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-27-2012, 02:07 PM

2 posts, read 3,111 times

Advertisements

I'm a professional, and due to the nature of my field, I legitimately can present my resume as still being in a position -- it's a volunteer position that actually continues the work from my last paid position -- but it's legit and very common to do something like this in my field. So I don't have a gap in my resume, and prospective employers don't know I'm unemployed by looking at my resume. Now, maybe some companies I'm applying to will figure out on their own that my current position doesn't currently pay me, but I doubt that most would ... unless my EDD calls them up the week after I applied to verify that I submitted an application!!

This week, my state unemployment department is implementing a requirement that you actually enter your three best work contacts from each week in the online weekly reporting. Prior to this, they told us to keep a log, but I think it was one of those deals where they only randomly check people's log and you get a letter telling you to report in. I've never been randomly checked, and I was guessing that I probably would not end up being randomly checked. Also, if I were randomly checked, I'd know about it and have a chance to decide whether I should do something like call the positions that I was still a candidate for and give them a courtesy heads up that EDD may be contacting them. So I haven't worried about the above scenario until now.