U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-29-2016, 01:46 PM

33 posts, read 42,659 times

Advertisements

I have been getting a lot of great information reading posts on this forum, but this is my first time posting on here. I hope someone here is able to help me

From February 2014 until January 2, 2016, I worked at a grocery store. It was a part time position (15-38 hours a week depending on the week). I left the position on good terms because I was offered a full-time position that started January 4.

Unfortunately, I didn't technically have the proper qualifications for the position for which I was hired. On Tuesday, the assistant director and I were discussing on well things were going. On Wednesday, I was let go because I wasn't "a good fit." (Though, I suspect I was never supposed to be hired for that position, and my boss needed to save herself; I cannot be sure if that is the case).

So, I filed for my unemployment benefits on January 24. I was told I could start claiming benefits on February 10, and that my interview would be on the 19th. When I went to claim benefits, I was blocked from doing so online, so I tried over the phone and got nowhere. (Turns out, the state thought I was still employed).