U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-30-2017, 11:08 AM

6 posts, read 3,711 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I used to live in Mass. I was an adjunct professor and was entitled to receive unemployment over the summer. Last year in June I filed for unemployment after I moved to North Carolina. I never lied to them I told them I was moving to look for work because my classes were getting less and less. I received checks up Sept. 2016 approx $9000. I received noticed today that I was disqualified and that they overpaid me $9000. They haven't asked for it back yet. Does anyone know if they will?

Thanks
Bob
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-30-2017, 11:32 AM

14,508 posts, read 29,088,827 times
WHY were you disqualified. Type in the WHOLE letter. Could by that you should be appealing so that you don't have to pay back the money, or maybe collect even more benefits.

Yes, they will ask for it back if you do nothing.

If it's nonfraud, there are things you can do to thwart DUA's ability to collect or get a waiver.

Don't just do nothing. If you don't want our help, get it from someone else.

Old 01-30-2017, 03:08 PM

[IMG]file:///C:\Users\Bob\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\cl ip_image002.jpg[/IMG]THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE