Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > United Kingdom
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-26-2012, 06:41 PM

7 posts, read 14,647 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,

I have some quick questions to ask from anyone who lives in Manchester or is familiar with the area about unique neighborhoods with things that are happening that are new and exciting. I am a graduate student at Texas A&M University studying Landscape Architecture. I am taking a Architecture history class that focuses on understanding the cultural significance of a neighborhood of a city.

I am looking for any suggestions for neighborhoods in Manchester that in your opinion where "it is happening". Not a tourist thingy or something that every person knows about, but something unique. A unique neighborhood where something interesting is happening.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

You can also email me with any of this stuff

sklater@ gmail . com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-27-2012, 01:53 AM

16,708 posts, read 17,488,479 times
I looked up Salford Quays, which I understood to be a newish development, and one where the BBC have set up a new centre. In doing so I found this link which may interest you;

The Quays

As an aside I have visited the campus at TX A&M and enjoyed it very much.

Old 09-27-2012, 03:39 AM

10,219 posts, read 17,945,101 times
A modern neighborhood or historic? You say you're taking an architecture history class but are looking for a "happening" place which sounds more modern.