Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Urban Planning
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-05-2013, 06:28 PM

123 posts, read 192,799 times

Advertisements

Hi everybody, I am a somewhat young professional (early thirties) who is thinking about a career change. I considered pursuing a masters in Architecture roughly 7 years ago but I chickened out due to job prospects in the field and debt. That being said, my love of buildings and cities hasn't gone away and I have realized that it never will go away (I played way too much Simcity on my SNES when i was a kid). That is why I am considering a career in Urban Planning or Urban Design (I know there are some differences). I have looked at a few graduate programs and I believe that I can secure a few grants from certain schools. Before I go that route I was wondering if it possible to be an urban planner without a degree in Urban Planning? I have a degree in Business along with Banking and some IT experience. Also what is the market like for Urban Designers/Planners who want to consult, specifically outside the United States in developing countries? Heck what is the market like period for Urban Designers and or Urban Planners?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-05-2013, 07:50 PM

15,080 posts, read 20,474,184 times
The responses in the following threads may help answer your question:

//www.city-data.com/forum/urban...-urbanist.html

//www.city-data.com/forum/urban...-planning.html

//www.city-data.com/forum/urban...nning-gis.html

Old 06-05-2013, 07:53 PM