U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-25-2006, 11:34 PM

333 posts, read 1,129,909 times

Advertisements

Like many posts here, I am a "Northerner" looking to escape to a warmer, somewhat affordable place. (in a few years, but doing research now) As a single professional I want someplace where there is a mid/larger sized city nearby but also someplace I can get some place and a home but not get killed in prices, and also "fit in" being a northerner.

So the 3 places in the Southeast I am looking at are/were
1) Northern VA
2) Charlotte or Raleigh NC
3) Atlanta, GA

So with Northern VA everything seemed great - lots of people from other places, more liberal and open minded than other areas, tons of jobs, big city nearby, nice enough weather, but then I went to look at housing prices and of course you know the story. $400-$500K seems average with 20% appreciation in the last year. Even if there is a bubble to burst prices still would be $350K so its out of range for a single income.

Just out of curiousity I did a search on northern (eastern) VA - and the 2 towns that came up with reasonable (3 bedroom) houses 1500 sq ft+ under $250K were
1) Ruther Glen
2) Colonial Beach

Same houses in the bigger suburbs nearer DC are $500K!