U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland
 [Register]
Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland Calvert County, Charles County, Montgomery County, and Prince George's County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-18-2007, 06:57 PM

1 posts, read 2,871 times

Advertisements

Hey guys I'm a young professional looking to move to federal hill in baltimore to enjoy that whole scene, but I work in Silver Spring. I have to be in to work by 9pm so I was wondering how long that commute would take given normal traffic. Thanks for any responses.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2007, 07:47 PM

866 posts, read 2,447,626 times
Did you mean 9am or 9pm? If 9pm, you could be there in 35 to 40 minutes. If you meant 9am, I would allow at LEAST an hour. Traffic on 95 South (especially as you get within a few miles of the Capital Beltway) and 495 West can be very heavy in the mornings, and an accident can greatly complicate things.

When I lived in Federal Hill, I occasionally had to be in Rockville at 9am, and sometimes leaving at 7am was not early enough. But Silver Spring is a much easier drive than Rockville.

I personally prefer Baltimore to DC, but living in an exciting DC neighborhood and taking the metro out to Silver Spring might be another option for you.

Old 11-19-2007, 10:41 AM

65 posts, read 359,515 times