U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-08-2010, 03:22 PM

15 posts, read 74,868 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm tossing up between DC and a few other places to move to this coming January. I have an Associate's Degree in Business, and I am doing a distance program through one of my local universities in order to finish my Bachelor's in Accounting. After which I plan on sitting for the CPA exams, therefore being able to land some sort of work in a CPA firm, whether it's as soon as I arrive or within a year, would be extremely advantageous for me. As for the basics:

Rentals:

I'll probably be doing what I am doing right now, that is renting someone's spare room. I have 2 cats with me, and I do appreciate having enough space in the living room to do my yoga DVDs. That said, are my cats going to present a problem when it comes to me renting? How much would I expect to pay for the living standard I described? How many months' rent would I normally need to move into a new place? And are there any parts of town I should avoid?

Food:

I'm not a gourmet snob, but I'm not the type to skimp on added expenses of eating healthy either. That said, how much would my weekly grocery bill probably run?

My Car:

Is public transport sufficient enough in the area around DC for me to not need a car?

Jobs: