U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-25-2011, 07:37 PM

7 posts, read 14,956 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

I am a young male professional (in my early 20's) recently blessed with a new full-time position in the Georgetown, D.C. area.

Arlington, VA is a desirable location -- a place near the metro would be great as well...but I don't know much about the area.

I'm just looking for a 2BR place (could be an APARTMENT, TOWNHOUSE, CONDO, etc.) under $2000/month, that is pretty safe with a short commute to Georgetown, D.C. (I will be living with my friend who will be working in the D.C. Metro Area as well).

Any suggestions or words of advice?

Thank you in advance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-25-2011, 11:28 PM

132 posts, read 328,575 times
I hate to have to break this news to you but a two bedroom apartment anywhere near Georgetown or DC in a decent area is nonexistant. For that type of rent you would have to look way way out in the burbs, like Springfield VA or Herndon VA and these places are not going to be near a metro. I think you and your friend are going to have to move into a group house share arrangement with a few other people or increase your budget to a about $3,000. Sorry, but welcome to the DC Metro area which now trails New York city in sky high rent.

Old 07-26-2011, 06:01 AM

1,783 posts, read 3,647,622 times