U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-03-2008, 01:39 PM

49 posts, read 147,176 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I used to live in the DC metro area for 6 years and loved it! I worked as a teacher, and my husband worked in the IT field. However, to make a long story short, I took a job in a DC charter school, (for a change from Howard County Public Schools), and things were fine until we suddenly had to change locations. (We had to move to an old abandoned school building b/c the current school was being torn down by the government to build housing). The conditions in this "new" school were deplorable, and I became pregnant. I had to stop working due to improper plumbing, rodent/roach infestation, etc, and this forced us to live off of one income. Our finances became unbearable, and even after I had my daughter, and worked as a teacher the following school year, we could never catch up! So... we jumped on the "let's move south" bandwagon, and moved to Charlotte. I am still working as a teacher, but my husband is now working as an IT manager, (the position he's wanted since entering the field). However, we have been living here for 2 years, and I am becoming more and more bored with this city, and want to move back to this area. My husband doesn't really care for the area either, but he does like his position, so he's not quite as anxious to move back as I am. (He also doesn't want to deal with the traffic again.)