U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships > Weddings
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-30-2013, 10:51 AM

2,761 posts, read 4,625,158 times

Advertisements

I am an usher for a friends wedding.
My friend just invited me to the brides wedding shower. He will be there. He also invited a few other close friends to the wedding shower.

What is the protocol here? Gift? No Gift?

I have one week notice, as the shower is next weekend.

I've never done this before.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 05-30-2013, 10:54 AM

35,103 posts, read 46,726,993 times
There generally is a shower gift given if you attend the shower and at the very least a nice card with money or a gift card inside.

Old 05-30-2013, 10:58 AM

26,381 posts, read 29,099,084 times
Traditionally the shower is to "shower" the couple with gifts to start their lives together. They're probably registered someplace like Target or Macy's or Bed Bath and Beyond, and you could buy them a gift of the registry, or you could give them cash or a gift card.

Sometimes for showers I like to do more "fun" gifts, like a tray with an acrylic pitcher, margarita glasses, and a bottle of good margarita mix, or a big flowerpot with gardening gloves, a trowel, and a few packets of seeds. That sort of thing.

Old 05-30-2013, 11:31 AM

10,903 posts, read 10,336,851 times
I like fleetie's ideas. Since there will be guys at the bride's shower, and technically gifts are for the couple, I'd suggest a nice bbq tool set, assuming they have a bbq of course.

Old 05-30-2013, 01:19 PM

3,474 posts, read 5,711,692 times