U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > West Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-25-2018, 05:52 PM

3 posts, read 1,527 times

Advertisements

Hi all, I am a single young professional who is looking to relocate back to the mid-atlantic next year to be closer to family & friends, and hopefully to avoid the rat race of a larger city. Ideally, I think the eastern panhandle of WV fits the bill (esp. Martinsburg / Charles Town area).

--

Background:
I grew up in a small town in Frederick County, Maryland and haven't truly been happy since I moved out - my career aspirations had me chasing big tech opportunities only found in the city - a place I cannot stand.

I went through the motions, relocated a few times, and have since established myself in my field. I currently hold a bachelor's degree, multiple industry certs, an active Secret clearance, and I just turned 23.
I have been satisfied with my job and northern Alabama in general, but not settling down 750 miles away from "home" satisfied. It's time to plan to come back and settle down.

--

That being said, where can I plop myself in WV that's small-feeling, laid-back, affordable, and that I can best put my qualifications to use somewhere within a 45 minute commute?

From what I see, Leesburg (Loudon County), VA has the greatest tech opportunity, but it's at the further end of where I'd want to drive every day from the Charles Town area, if I moved there.
Basically, how far out in the boonies can I put myself and still have a viable career? Especially for a cleared jr. network engineer.

Any guidance is appreciated.