Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-18-2015, 09:00 PM

6 posts, read 16,462 times

Advertisements

Hi all - we currently live on the UWS but are considering the move to Westchester this year. For background, my wife and I are both in our early 30s, are Asian, have a young daughter and 2 small dogs. I work in finance and my wife was a private school teacher but now a SAHM. We are trying to stick to the $2+/- range and initially narrowed it down to Scarsdale, Edgemont, Bronxville and Ardsley based on 1) schools and 2) proximity it to the city (I work in midtown east, north of GCT).

Now sadly, this budget doesn't get us that great of a house in Scarsdale, Bronxville or Edgemont schools. We considered going higher on budget but really the houses we'd want to live in (and not just settle for) are outside what we would be comfortable spending. So that's now leading us to consider moving a bit farther up north to Chappaqua and Armonk. A few questions for folks here:

1) what's the "real" commute time from Chappaqua and Armonk into GCT?

Driving to Stations. I know Armonk means driving to North White Plains, how bad is traffic on weekday mornings getting to the station (vs say getting to Hartsdale station from Ardsley or Edgemont)?