U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-05-2016, 07:41 AM

13 posts, read 18,601 times

Advertisements

So my family of 5 will be moving to the area in the next 6 months. I have 3 children under 5 and was looking at the northern Westchester county towns. We will probably only be able to afford about $300K and we wanted something with some land, even if it is just .25-.35 acres. Obviously good schools are a must.

I will be working in and around the city. I work in construction management so I will never have a set office but it will be mostly around the city, or just outside of it. I don't mind a commute. After looking at the lower towns and seeing how expensive they are with no land, further up is great. Plus I am looking to be in the city around 7-7:30am, and will miss a lot of the traffic in the morning. I would like to keep it under 1hour 15min.

I really love Cortland Manor and Mohegan Lake areas. Seem to have good schools and be a reasonable distance from the city with transit options. Also had been looking at Brewster, Carmel, and Somers area but it seems that area may be too far away. I wold love some input on this area. Also some input on the commute from the Stormville area would also be greatly appreciated!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-06-2016, 08:07 AM

148 posts, read 509,562 times