Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-03-2016, 12:56 AM

983 posts, read 931,862 times

Advertisements

I live in Manhattan currently and I'm going broke. I want to live in Westchester and commute to where I work in a lab (at city college) on Metro North (Take the hudson line to Marble Hill then change to the 1 train).

I was thinking of living in Yonkers. Is the "near the train station" area of Yonkers safe/is it laid out well for walking? Or Ludlow? Or pretty much any other town (ones with apartments near the train)?

Are the train station-vicinity areas expensive enough that I may as well stay in Manhattan?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-03-2016, 04:33 AM

65 posts, read 77,803 times
If you would like the benefits of living in Yonkers while being walkable to train, look in the area of the Crestwood metro north station NOT the Yonkers station. The Crestwood neighborhood is in Yonkers, is residential and very safe to walk around at all hours. That train station is also walkable from TuchHoe and Eastchrster. The Yonkers station is not in a residential area (except for some apartments on the water). If you prefer the Hudson line id look further up ... Hastings on hudson and north.

Old 10-04-2016, 11:09 AM

34,090 posts, read 47,293,896 times
Why pay extra money to Metro-North? Get a place in the Bronx:

Norwood Apartments for Rent | StreetEasy

Forum TOS: //www.city-data.com/forumtos.html

Old 10-04-2016, 02:16 PM

195 posts, read 297,192 times