U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-09-2017, 07:59 AM

8 posts, read 5,879 times

Advertisements

My wife and I are considering the move to Westchester next year (we currently live in the UWS) but worry about us both commuting into the city. We worry about getting stranded in Manhattan with train issues or getting home too late to enjoy dinner with our kids if there are delays. I'm a software engineer who works in FiDi and my wife will be an attorney working in a building attached to Grand Central. We have two school aged children from her previous marriage and plan to expand our family soon. Is there are market for software engineers in Westchester? I'm also considering remote work.

The idea of having a house where the boys can run around without us worrying about the neighbors and our boys having the freedom to play outside without us is very appealing to us. My wife and I both grew up in the burbs and never thought city life was going to be it for us. However, our boys are in great gifted and talented programs and are almost old enough to explore the city on their own (they are 11 and 9). So, a double commute might kill our desire to move.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-09-2017, 08:39 AM

788 posts, read 701,569 times