U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-23-2008, 04:54 PM

1,867 posts, read 3,905,279 times

Advertisements

How is it to live in White Plains? Is it congested with traffic? Are the people nice and are there things to do? How are the schools and the taxes. Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-25-2008, 06:03 AM

295 posts, read 1,446,886 times
Default White plains

I'm no expert... I've only recently moved there, but I really like White Plains.

Traffic is not too bad (compared to Manhattan, Bronx & Queens). There are many highways that can get you there: so at least there is variety. In the city itself...I've never gotten stuck.

There is a huge variety of everything...types of people: in terms of ethnic diversity & economic diversity, types of stores, ect.

If you are interested...go up and check it out. There is nothing better than seeing a place for yourself (what is no traffic for me may be lots for you, ect). You can do a search online for events.

Old 11-25-2008, 09:32 AM

701 posts, read 3,159,703 times
Hard to classify the traffic because it partially depends where in White Plains. If you are talking about the actual city center, traffic can be annoying, but it's nothing compared to New York City. (Might take you a whole 10 minutes to cross from 1 side of the city center, to the other).
The outlying "suburban" part of White Plains is more typical of the entire county.