U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-21-2009, 07:20 PM

10 posts, read 17,003 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I'm a medical student and I'm going to start my rotations in Mt. Vernon hospital (12 N. 7th Ave) in January. I'm trying to decide where to stay for 6 months. I was planning on staying in Manhattan and taking the Metro North to Mt. Vernon East station. My question is-how is the area around the station and the hospital? Is it safe to walk from the station to the hospital especially if it's later in the evening? If not, is there a bus that would go that way? I've also started looking into apartments in Yonkers and New Rochelle but I was hoping to get a place that doesn't require a car (ie Manhattan). Thanks in advance for the help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-21-2009, 07:22 PM
cee

32 posts, read 165,063 times
HEY! I'm going there too! any one's advice would be appreciated

Old 12-22-2009, 07:20 AM

7,079 posts, read 35,850,425 times
Why on earth would you want to stay in Manhattan? Not only is it going to be tremendously expensive (and since most medical students owe a LOT of money that might interest you) but parking is a nightmare if you're planning to drive and it's just a PAIN. Stay in Westchester. Cheaper, more convenient.

Old 12-22-2009, 09:02 AM

9,964 posts, read 16,087,017 times