U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-07-2010, 12:38 PM

7 posts, read 23,619 times

Advertisements

I'm new to City-Data and find it a great resource. I posted this over in the New Jersey forum but since it deals with a comparison of New Jersey (Essex County towns) and Westchester, I wanted to hear from this forum as well.

I'm wondering if anyone here cross-shopped Maplewood/Millburn/South Orange, NJ area with towns in Westchester before ultimately picking one. Which did you pick and why? From my perspective:

Maplewood area advantages
It seems to me that Maplewood et al represent better value in terms of property prices. The houses in general are more attractive with modern finishes and renovations. There seems to be a thriving artistic and cultural community in Maplewood and South Orange, something that's hard to equal in pretty much any town in Westchester, with the possible exception of some of the River towns (although those communities are much smaller). The close proximity to Manhattan is a plus (30-35 minute commute) as are all the amenities like Trader Joe's in Millburn, Short Hills Mall, and South Mountain Reservation. I know of some this can be easily achieved in Southern Westchester but it isn't as well laid-out as in the area of question in NJ. Moreover, it's easy to find a place that's walkable to the train and town. Quite easy in fact to have only one car. People, especially those with young families like me, seem to genuinely love this area with a passion that's hard to find anywhere else in the Tri-State area.