Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Western North Carolina
 [Register]
Western North Carolina The Mountain Region including Asheville
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 08:29 AM

12 posts, read 34,269 times

Advertisements

I've been down into the WNC mountains several times now. I love log cabins and might build one myself as I am an accomplished home builder. But what I really wanted to do was build an underground home I designed and planed to build in WNY. But, since I'm getting out of this state, I was wondering if anyone knows of any underground homes in the WNC area I might use as comparison. I guess with all the stone you'd have to excavate, basements would not be to common in the mountains and of coarse there is the termite issue too. I wanted to know if it would be feasible to build. Even a shallow excavation with a back fill to create a hill around the home would work for me. I just don't have the experience or knowledge of the soil conditions down there in WNC.

I also see a lot of homes for sale around Lake Lure. Is everyone selling and moving out? Or are these just 2nd homes people can't afford any more.

I have to say, I was in Lake Lure around Thanksgiving and it was booming with business. Even the store owners were surprised at how many people were in town.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-26-2011, 11:07 AM

227 posts, read 856,092 times