Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wisconsin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-18-2006, 09:32 AM

2 posts, read 8,787 times

Advertisements

I am an artist and would like to live in a small town that gets enough tourists to be able to make money. I am hoping to open an art shop and breakfast/soup place and was wondering if Eagle River was the place. What is Eagle River like and what are the people and tourists like? Does anyone know any other places that I should check out?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2006, 07:05 AM

6 posts, read 56,563 times
I live near Eagle River in St Germain. It is a very tourist driven economy. The summer is very busy with family vacationers and the winter is buzzing with snowmobilers. You would in my opinion have a pretty good buisiness in the summer months but may struggle in the rest of the seasons.

I have 3 children in the schools here and am pretty happy with them. They really encourage parent involvement, which I like.

As far as the people and the tourist go, there are good and bad everywhere.

Good luck with your venture, I hope you find the place that is right for you. Check out the local chamber web sites for some other info that may be helpful. I also like (broken link) it lets you compare cities on topics like crime and cost of living.

Lynn

Last edited by Yac; 10-24-2006 at 11:24 AM.. Reason: link removed

Old 10-24-2006, 10:38 PM

3,439 posts, read 3,366,373 times