U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wisconsin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 01:38 PM

1 posts, read 5,517 times

Advertisements

I am researching vacation/future retirement property in the Mauston area. I know that a lot of small towns are rather closed minded when it comes to newcomers..... Can anyone fill me in a little bit on the nature/feel/people/openness/, etc. of this area? Does it tend to be conservative/liberal/in between? I would be living there in the summers (I am a teacher in the Chicago area) and perhaps full time when I retire - within 8-10 years. I don't want to buy or build a home only to find out that I am not comfortable there! Thanks for any and all input!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-19-2006, 06:26 AM

54 posts, read 296,280 times
I'm not sure about the Mauston area but I think you might want to consider the Tomah area. (i'm very familar with this area) Mauston seems a little to small for me. (4800?I've done some business there.)
Tomah is about 8500 people and its just 30 more miles north of Mauston ( just off I90 and I-94) I think they are very friendly and a little different than most cities that size, because Tomah is next to two military bases I think it keeps the small town people a little more forward thinking, because there are many different types of people from all parts of the US. They come and go. I've known quite a few people that have retired in this area and they like it.

Old 07-19-2006, 03:51 PM

32 posts, read 93,715 times