Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-23-2010, 09:39 AM

219 posts, read 562,432 times

Advertisements

Recently I picked up a p/t retail job for the holiday season. I do not need the job (I'm an operations manager for a large corp), it's just something to keep me busy, that will also make me some extra money. I've only been with this retail company for about a week, but already I've learned a great deal about the manipulative paternalistic tactics used on employees in this industry.

Managers treat you like children. As an associate, you are not allowed to make any decisions on your own. You are constantly under surveillance. Yesterday, our team was lectured for standing around in one area for a little under 10 minutes, though no prospective customers were ignored. The department lead warned us all, "I'm trying so hard to keep your hours up, because management is telling me they want to cut hours." Yeah, right. This is retail's busiest season of the year and they're threatening to cut hours. Sure. Interesting tactic, though.

Some customers (oddly enough, I've experienced this mostly with women), have a tendency to look down on you. You can tell in the way they address you or look at you when they're talking to you that they see you as beneath them. You receive rude phone calls from middle-aged men looking for Xbox video games or accessories. People literally trash your department.