U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-03-2011, 12:09 PM

843 posts, read 1,251,190 times

Advertisements

So I've been going to school for CAD design. I have about 5 years experience with Catia V5 and have the same amount of knowledge in rubber and plastic injection molding and plastic trim. However, with this knowledge, I haven't been able to get a job in the same field. Sense I'm only proficient in one, maybe two, programs. Companies are not looking to hire me.

Now I'm looking at my other strengths. One of which is customer service. I want to be picky about this. I do NOT want anything in sales. To me, a sales rep. almost seems like another term for "lawyer". Let's leave out any restaurant work, as I'm already working in a restaurant.

I've been looking to volunteering, to test my skills, but I haven't seen much that would require much in any type of customer service oriented work.

Any ideas would be great.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-04-2011, 11:58 AM

856 posts, read 1,882,360 times
Working in a restaurant is a form of customer service...when you apply to jobs make sure to mention that you are currently working in a customer driven environment.