U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-30-2011, 02:11 PM

35 posts, read 106,122 times

Advertisements

I have a bachelor's degree in education and spent 5 years as a teacher. I decided to leave the field and pursue a career in non-profits, as I have experience with that through the school district I worked for. I have experience with community outreach, fundraising, supervising volunteers and being a buyer (within a budget).

I've taken my time and written very good cover letters, not just a form one, have a decent (at least) resume.

I know the original issue was that I was an out-of-towner, but now I'm in town and still nothing. I would call, but most of the job postings say to not call.

Any ideas?

I currently am working for a large grocery chain as a buyer and got a transfer to Seattle but they are only paying me $11 an hour and I'm going to be homeless unless I find a second job/a better job.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-30-2011, 02:20 PM

3,670 posts, read 7,048,828 times
Where are you looking for job postings? The jobs you are applying to may not actually exist.

Old 12-30-2011, 02:23 PM

6,966 posts, read 21,561,252 times
A former school teacher and writes a post with a lot of "I's". God help those kids.

$11 an hr does not say much for a BA degree...but then again a pay scale is based on experience in the particular work field.

Not trying to be sarcastic here but reality is that a person gets paid for the knowledge in a field and NOT the degree a person has in their hand.