Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-23-2013, 01:34 PM

341 posts, read 1,233,351 times

Advertisements

I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Business Management. I've been having a very difficult time finding an entry level job and it's been almost 8 months since I've graduated. I've been on a few interviews with companies but most of the time after the 2nd interview or job shadowing they end up going with someone else who is a "better fit" or with more experience. For about two years I've been really interested in the HR field so I've been applying for HR entry level jobs like assistant, administrative, associate, rep, etc. Most times I get turned down but I've gotten 3-4 interviews in the past 8 months and they always say I interview good and like me but someone else had more experience.

I've had over 5 years of customer service experience and some administrative work so I don't know what the big deal is. I type over 100 wpm with 97% accuracy if I don't proof read and I'm very familiar with Microsoft Office. Also, I graduated with honors with a GPA of 3.8

I'm getting very discouraged here. I just accepted a job offer for a customer call center and I just took it because I thought maybe just MAYBE I can advance some how. Anyways, now I'm regretting it because it's just part time, I'd be working two different locations 30-40 minutes from my house, and work holidays with no extra pay just regular pay.